Calling all veterinarians interested in ethics and animal welfare - BC SPCA
Search by
postal code:
Search our site:

Animal Helpline:


For all other calls and inquiries
see our contact details.

Find a BC SPCA location in your area:

Calling all veterinarians interested in ethics and animal welfare

September 10, 2019

The BC SPCA encourages all veterinarians across Canada interested in pursuing continued training or education related to ethics and animal welfare to apply for the Dr. Carol Morgan Memorial Award.

Dog at vet clinic getting check up

Dr. Morgan served as a BC SPCA Board Member and Advisor, and was a beloved member of the animal welfare community.

The Animal Welfare Foundation of Canada (AWFC) established the award in honour of Dr. Morgan, who was a passionate and tireless advocate for animal welfare. She worked as a veterinarian with companion and farm animals in Ontario and B.C. Her graduate studies at the UBC Animal Welfare Program focused on moral decision-making in veterinary medicine. She was the recipient of the 2011 CFHS Frederic McGrand Award for Excellence in Animal Welfare, the 2012 CVMA Humane Award, and the 2014 BC SPCA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Morgan passed away from cancer in 2015 at the age of 51 but her legacy lives on. Past recipients of the award that bears her name include:

2017: Equine veterinarian Dr. Susi Cienciala of Deep Creek Veterinary Services who continued her studies with the goal of bringing the science of how horses learn to veterinary students in Canada.

2018: Dr. Holly Tillotson of Pacific Rim Veterinary Hospital in Port Alberni attended the International Veterinary Forensic Sciences Association annual conference in 2019. Dr. Tillotson is a passionate advocate of veterinary forensics, which is an emerging field that uses advanced investigatory techniques to solve crimes against animals.

All practicing Canadian veterinarians in good standing with their provincial veterinarian association are eligible for the award.

Email completed application forms to Dr. Sara Dubois, by Oct. 15, 2019 for courses that will be completed in the following year. Award recipients will be notified in writing by Dec. 31.